1966 - Live & Rare

  • Sale
  • Regular price £18.99
  • Unavailable

Product Info

1966 was an exciting year for The Yardbirds, when the group was pulsing with ideas and energy. With singer and harmonica player Keith Relf at the helm and Jeff Beck providing guitar wizardry at his side, the group were on fire.

They had released seminal studio album The Yardbirds, better known as Roger The Engineer, that featured Jeff on songs like Over, Under, Sideways, Down .

However, it was on the road that the group, with Chris Dreja on bass and Jim McCarty on drums, really came alive. We hear them in action on the many dynamic live performances presented on this superb vinyl LP, storming into classics like Train Kept A Rollin and Shapes of Things to screams of applause.

There are also fascinating oddities like American radio Commercials, as well as the A and B sides of singles and even Stroll On from the soundtrack of the famed Sixties movie Blow-Up. Here is a feast of Yardbirds in flight, that will delight collectors and fans alike.


1 Train Kept A - Rollin' (Live at Music Hall De France, 22/07/66)
2 Shapes of Things (Live at Music Hall De France, 22/07/1966)
3 Over Under Sideways Down (Live at Music Hall De France,
4 Questa Volta (Live at San Remo Music Festival, 27 - 28/01/66)
5 Paff Bum (Live at San Remo Music Festival, 27 - 28/01/66)
6 Great Shakes Commercial
7 Maclean's Toothpaste Commercial
8 Train Kept A - Rollin' (NME Poll Winners performance, 01/05/66)
9 Shapes of Things (NME Poll Winners performance, 01/05/66) (Tracks 1 - 9 on Side 1)
10 Happenings Ten Years Time Ago (A - side)
11 Psycho Daisies Single (B - side)
12 Stroll On (From 'Blow - Up')
13 Mr. Zero (Keith Relf A - side)
14 Knowing Single (Keith Relf B - side)
15 Shapes In My Mind (Keith Relf A - side)
16 Blue Sands (Keith Relf B - side)
17 Shapes In My Mind (Alternate Version)