Wilson Pickett

Sings Bobby Womack

  • Released: 28/7/2017
  • Label: Kent
  • Genre: Soul

  • Sale
  • Regular price £12.99
  • In Stock

More Info

Between 1966 and 1968, soul great Wilson Pickett recorded no less than 17 songs written by a young, up-and-coming singer/songwriter with whom he had much in common stylistically. Bobby Womack's own time as a regular hit-maker was still a few years off and it was largely the popularity of Pickett's versions of several of his songs which set him on his way to soul superstardom. For years both Pickett and Womack fans have been hoping for a collection which brings together all of their collaborations. Finally such a collection has arrived. As well as the 17 Womack compositions, by way of a bonus it includes Pickett's version of Womack's mentor Sam Cooke's classic Bring It On Home To Me and both sides of Womack's own lone Atlantic 45, recorded during the same period as these tracks. Recorded in Memphis and Muscle Shoals with the leading studio musicians of the day - including Womack on guitar and backing vocals on many of the tracks - Wilson Pickett Sings Bobby Womack is in many ways the great lost Pickett album, and one which stacks up favourably against any of his official Atlantic releases of the period. Extensively annotated, handsomely illustrated and with a cover design that pays homage to those late 60s Atlantic albums, it s a compilation no Pickett fan can afford to be without.


1 I Found a True Love
2 I'm Sorry About That
3 I'm in Love
4 Nothing You Can Do
5 I Found the One
6 Jealous Love
7 She's So Good to Me
8 I'm a Midnight Mover
9 Something Within Me
10 It's a Groove
11 Let's Get an Understanding
12 People Make the World (What It Is)
13 We've Got to Have Love
14 Trust Me
15 Remember, I Been Good to You
16 Sit Down and Talk This Over
17 I've Come a Long Way
18 Find Me Somebody - Bobby Womack
19 How Does It Feel - Bobby Womack