Antonio Carlos Jobim

The Girl From Ipanema

  • Sale
  • Regular price $22.00
  • Unavailable

More Info

The Girl from Ipanema was the frst album by Antonio Carlos Jobim and features a dozen instrumentals arranged by Claus Ogerman, whose work would mark the beginning of a lifelong musical relationship with Jobim.

Of the album's twelve songs, almost all are jazz standards. The opening track The Girl from Ipanema is believed to be the second most recorded song in history, the frst being The Beatles' Yesterday.

The album was inducted into the Latin Grammy Hall of Fame in 2001. In 2007, Rolling Stone Brasil ranked it number 58 in "The 100 greatest Brazilian music records".

"If the bossa nova movement had produced nothing more than this album, it would have been more than justifed. I cannot recommend this album highly enough and only wish there were more stars to award it." - DOWN BEAT (Pete Welding), 5 STARS.

  1. Garota De Ipanema [The Girl From Ipanema]
  2. Amor Em Paz [Once I Loved]
  3. Agua De Beber
  4. Vivo Sonhando [Dreamer]
  5. O Morro Nao Tem Vez [Favela]
  6. Insensatez [How Insensitive]
  7. Corcovado [Quiet Nights]
  8. Desafnado
  9. Corcovado [Quiet Nights]
  10. Samba De Uma Nota So [One Note Samba]
  11. Meditacao [Meditation]
  12. So Danco Samba [Jazz Samba]
  13. Chega De Saudade
  14. Desafnado
  15. Meditacao [Meditation]
  16. Insensatez [How Insensitive]