Bonnie Tyler

The East West Years (1995-1998)

  • Sale
  • Regular price £20.99
  • Available to buy

More Info

• Two late ‘90s albums from the legendary Welsh singer and Meat Loaf sparring partner who recently celebrated her 70th birthday.

• Plus a CD of their international-selling single cuts in various formats including the mighty ‘Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad’, her cover of The Alan Parsons’s Project’s ‘Limelight’ and the theme tune to German TV series The King of St. Pauli in which she appeared.

• With contributions from ‘Bat Out Of Hell’ composer Jim Steinman, Frankie Miller, the Scorpions’ Rudolph Schenker plus Klaus Meine, Mike Batt and Harold Faltermeyer (Beverly Hills Cop).

Welsh chanteuse Bonnie Tyler’s musical career began in 1977 with the country-tinged worldwide hit, ‘Lost In France’. Her biggest smashes came in the mid-‘80s when she teamed up with ‘Bat Out Of Hell’ creator, Jim Steinman.

Germany was always a big stronghold for Bonnie Tyler, and a new deal there with East West Records led to the release of ‘Free Spirit’, in 1995. Featuring songs from a number of established and acclaimed writers, including Frankie Miller and the Scorpions’ Rudolph Schenker and Klaus Meine, it included an equally varied array of producers, including ELO’s Jeff Lynne. The album is particularly notable for seeing Bonnie teaming up with mentor, Jim Steinman, for the singles ‘Making Love (Out Of Nothing At All)’, which had previously been a huge hit for Air Supply, plus ‘Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad’, which had originally been recorded by Meat Loaf for the multi-platinum ‘Bat Out Of Hell’.

Three years later, Bonnie released her second East West album, ‘All In One Voice’. The album was mainly produced by Jimmy Smyth, and featured contributions from Mike Batt (The Wombles, Katie Melua) and Harold Faltermeyer (Beverly Hills Cop). The lead single, ‘He’s The King’, was also used in a popular German TV show of the time The King of St. Pauli, that Bonnie made an appearance in. Always a truly international artist, the second single from the album, ‘Heaven’ was performed at Sweden’s selection show for the Eurovision Song Contest.



Free Spirit (1995)

Track Listing:


Free Spirit (1995)

1 Nothing To Do With Love
2 You're The One
3 Making Love (Out Of Nothing At All)
4 Given It All
5 What You Got
6 Bridge Over Troubled Water
7 Time Mends A Broken Heart
8 Driving Me Wild
9 Sexual Device
10 Make It Right Tonight
11 All Night To Know You
12 Forget Her
13 Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad
14 Sexual Device (The Vari Mix)


All In One Voice (1998)
1 Heaven
2 Like An Ocean
3 Soon Will Be Too Late
4 You Always Saw The Blue Skies
5 We Can Start Here
6 Angel Of The Morning
7 The Reason Why
8 Return To Blue
9 You're Breaking My Heart Again
10 I Put A Spell On You
11 I'll Never Let You Down
12 The Rose
13 He's The King
14 Silent Night


Singles & Bonus Tracks (1995-1998)
1 Making Love (Out Of Nothing At All) (Radio Version)
2 Making Love (Out Of Nothing At All) (Long Version)
3 Making Love (Out Of Nothing At All) (Shnauzer Plus)
4 Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad (Radio Version)
5 Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad (Kobe Edit)
6 Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad (Ralphi's Soft Dub)
7 Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad (Ralphi's Cha-Cha Dub)
8 Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad (Ralphi's Extended Vox)
9 Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad (Ralphi's Tribal Beats)
10 Limelight (Radio Version)
11 Limelight (Overture Mix)
12 He's The King (Radio Version)
13 He's The King (Acoustic Mix)
14 Heaven (Chamber Mix)