The Black Album (Remastered)

  • Sale
  • Regular price £42.99
  • In Stock In Stock In Stock Unavailable

Product Info

Deluxe Box Set :

  • 2LP album remastered on 180G LP
  • 10” picture disc
  • Live at Wembley LP
  • 2LP live at Moscow LP
  • 14 CDs (variety of unreleased/released demos, rough mixes, b-sides, covers, live shows)
  • 6 DVDs (variety of unreleased/released outtakes, live shows, BTS footage)
  • 120-page hardcover book (w/unreleased photos + stories)
  • Three magazine cover prints (we’re marketing as lithos)
  • Metallica lanyard
  • Four tour laminates
  • Folder with lyric sheets
  • Three guitar picks
  • Download card
  • Hinged box w/magnetic flap w/spot UV gloss of snake on the back and spot UV gloss of band name on side

2LP / CD / 3CD

More Info

After the muddled production and ultracomplicated song structures of ...And Justice for All, Metallica decided that they had taken the progressive elements of their music as far as they could and that a simplification and streamlining of their sound was in order. While the assessment made sense from a musical standpoint, it also presented an opportunity to commercialise their music, and Metallica accomplishes both goals.

The best songs are more melodic and immediate, the crushing, stripped-down grooves of "Enter Sandman," "Sad but True," and "Wherever I May Roam" sticking to traditional structures and using the same main riffs throughout; the crisp, professional production by Bob Rock adds to their accessibility. "The Unforgiven" and "Nothing Else Matters" avoid the slash-and-burn guitar riffs that had always punctuated the band's ballads; the latter is a full-fledged love song complete with string section, which works much better than might be imagined.

The band's popularity exploded so much that most of their back catalog found mainstream acceptance in its own right, while other progressively inclined speed metal bands copied the move toward simplification.


Enter Sandman 5:29
Sad But True 5:24
Holier Than Thou 3:47
The Unforgiven 6:26
Wherever I May Roam 6:42
Don't Tread On Me 3:59
Through The Never 4:01
Nothing Else Matters 6:29
Of Wolf And Man 4:16
The God That Failed 5:05
My Friend Of Misery 6:47
The Struggle Within 3:51