• Sale
  • Regular price £19.99
  • Available to buy In Stock

Product Info

Limited LP : Black Vinyl 

More Info

Vinyl is limited to 500 copies on black vinyl, no download card. Sunzoom have been making a stir from their Liverpool base and this highly anticipated debut is not to be missed. Lo-fi and DIY in equal measure, the record was only conceived of 4 weeks into the first lockdown when songwriter Greg McVeigh decided that recording music was the only way to stay sane. Building a makeshift studio in the kitchen of his North Liverpool home (and deciding to name the new project SUNZOOM after a favourite Captain Beefheart track) Greg set about learning the processes of home
recording from the ground up. The album theme draws upon the peculiar aspects of lockdown; isolation, spiritual introspection, longing to be somewhere else, weird dreams, drinking too much and takes the listener on a journey of escape. The songs move the record through fields, countries, time, space, memories and longings to finally end back at home in the reality of the four walls. Digging into
some past unreleased recordings, poems, unfinished snippets of tunes and writing new songs (usually sung into his phone during months of daily beach walks with his dog) Greg began to build a record within the claustrophobic environment of summer 2020. Friends were able to collaborate (by the magic of old recordings and new parts sent via email) and in early 2021 Sunzoom entered ARK Recording Studios in Liverpool to add live drums and vocal parts subsequently spending a month mixing the record back home in the familiar surroundings of the kitchen where the concept first began. The result is a snapshot of the period that magically transforms personal and public strife into glorious pop-folk psychedelia.


1. The Sun's Everlasting
2. Pour Me Another Wine
3. Anytime Soon
4. A Simple Song
5. The Garden Birds of India
6. Willowhedge
7. Osaka Radio
8. Let's go
9. The Place Where The Long Shadows Grow
10. Hell No
11. Soul Parade
12. Home On The Range Bonus Tracks (CD & Download Only)
13. The Happy Fly
14. Hell No (Original Demo)
15. Pour Me Another Wine (Alternative take)