Sunrise From The West Sea

  • Sale
  • Regular price £25.99
  • In Stock In Stock

More Info

Remastered from the master tapes with original gatefold artwork, obi and new

introduction by Paul Bowler.


Recorded live at Yamaha Hall in Tokyo on April 18, 1971, the all-night concert was

recorded in front of an invite-only audience consisting of friends and musicians.

Yamash'ta had Satoh on keyboards along with Fluxus master and leader of the

Taj Mahal Travellers Takehisa Kosugi on violin and Hideakira Sakurai on electric



Edited down to fit two sides of an album that will become 'Sunrise From West

Sea', the performance is both hypnotic and ethereal. It starts with Kosugi's

distinctive electric violin and develops into a deep, spiritual free form

conversation between the four musicians, giving them all the space, they need to

freely improvise and interact with each other, mixing electronics, percussion,

electric organ and shamizen without ever clashing. The interaction alternates

between quiet, tranquil Eastern meditations and more paced parts, fuelled by

Yamash'ta's extraordinary percussion playing.


Yamash'ta never reached the creativity heard in 'Sunrise From West Sea' again.

The album was recorded during one of the most fertile periods in Japan where

such groups as Les Rallizes Denudes and Taj Mahal Travellers and jazz

musicians like Masahiko Satoh and Yamash'ta were revolutionising the Japanese

music scene.


1. Sunrise From West Sea Part 1

2. Sunrise From West Sea Part 2