Lewis Taylor

Stoned Part II

  • Sale
  • Regular price £31.99
  • In Stock

More Info

Stoned Part II is Lewis Taylor's pure, perfect dance-pop album. His second self-released
album and fourth album proper, it initially appeared on his own label Slow Reality in 2004. It's been licensed to Be With for this long-awaited double LP release, its first ever vinyl edition. Gravely misunderstood at the time by hardcore fans and the music press alike, it has aged quite magnificently. An experiment in the sounds of contemporary pop and dance music, Lewis's wonky take on funky pop would annihilate anything kicking around the charts, then or now. If only it were given half a chance.

Stoned Part II is brimming with Lewis's trademark soul, his singing as beautiful as ever, but the rhythms throughout are more upbeat, the overall sound a more smooth and slicker dance-funk presentation. Roughly half the tracks are absolutely essential, fascinating re- workings of tracks from the eternal Stoned Part 1, as Lewis explains: "When we were doing Stoned we were trying different approaches with everything so we ended up with more than one version of nearly all the songs which left us with more than an album's worth of material. There was a lot of really cool house tunes around at the time which we were both really into and that shaped the sound and production, some songs more directly than others." Amen to that.


A1 - Madman (4:22)
A2 - Keep Right On (5:30)
A3 - Reconsider (3:51)
B1 - When Will I Ever Learn 2 (3:44)
B2 - Out Of My Head Is The Way I Feel (3:05)
B3 - Carried Away (3:32)
C1 - Stoned Part 2 (4:13)
C2 - Positively Beautiful 2 (4:09)
C3 - Throw Me A Line (3:42)
D1 - Shame 2 (3:34)
D2 - Won’t Fade Away (4:05)
D3 - Keep On Keeping On (4:47)