• Sale
  • Regular price £11.99
  • Unavailable

More Info
The second of three ground breaking albums by the ultimate power trio who morphed blues into hard rock and spawned punk. A much-loved opus with a side-long concept piece. A bona fide inspirational rock classic. And a second side that delivers the mighty ‘Cherry Red’, McPhee’s take on The Beatles’ ‘A Day In the Life’, a sideswipe at junk food and a glorious interpretation of John Lee Hooker’s ‘Groundhogs Blues’. Remastered and packaged with bonus tracks of out-takes from the original sessions that spawned this spontaneous monster.

“Supercharged, fractured and raging.” - MOJO

“Tony McPhee has turned to anarchic paranoid battlegrounds of the mind for inspiration,” - Melody Maker

“Both musically and lyrically, ’Split’ speaks for a lost time, a nomad time when ideals took to the hoof and musicians stayed on the road rather than confront the fact that the '60s 'war' had been lost.” - Julian Cope

“Murky, fuzzy, and wisely esoteric.” - AllMusic

1. Split - Part One
2. Split - Part Two
3. Split - Part Three
4. Split - Part Four
5. Cherry Red
6. A Year In The Life
7. Junkman
8. Groundhog….

Bonus tracks:
9. Split - Part one (Instrumental)
10. Split - Part two (Take 3)
11. Split - Part four (Unlisted Take with Overdubbed Guitar)
12. Cherry Red (Number 6 - Re take)
13. A Year In The Life (Instrumental)
14. Split - Part three (Without Intro)
15. Split - Part four (Instrumental)