Alabama Shakes

Sound & Color (Deluxe Edition)

  • Sale
  • Regular price £9.99
  • Unavailable In Stock

More Info

Rough Trade Records will release the deluxe edition of Sound & Color, Alabama Shakes’ groundbreaking GRAMMY-winning 2015 album on Oct 29th. The repackaged set – available in digital, CD and limited 2-disc vinyl formats – will feature seven bonus tracks pulled from unreleased studio material, b-sides and live recordings plus reimagined artwork by GRAMMY-winning art director Frank Harkins and new photos.

Originally released in April 2015, Sound & Color debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard 200. The album also went Top 10 in Australia, the Netherlands, Switzerland & the UK where it is certified silver with over 84,000 sales 

Alabama Shakes co-produced the album alongside Blake Mills (Bob Dylan, Perfume Genius). Mainly recorded at Nashville’s Sound Emporium Studios, Sound & Color also found the band joining forces with engineer/mixer Shawn Everett (Beck, The War on Drugs, Kacey Musgraves). As they brought the album’s finely detailed tracks to life, Alabama Shakes let their most playful impulses run free.

Uncut Magazine 

Sound & Color is a richer, more spacious and wide-ranging album; one that encompasses psychedelic funk (Future People), lovely Curtis Mayfield homages (Guess Who), Erykah Badu-ish nu-soul (Over My Head) and even Strokesy ramalam (The Greatest) as well as a couple of Otis-style showstoppers (Gimme All Your Love and Miss You). 

The Observer 4/5

A riveting, kaleidoscopic second album

NME 4/5 

The roots quartet's second set subtly updates their sound - but it's still all about that voice

The Independent 4/5

Sound & Color brims with the confident ambition of a band discovering and exploring exactly what they're capable of.  

Pitchfork 8.1 - Stadium soul with one eye peeking toward another galaxy while hands and feet and throats desperately try to suss out life here on Earth.


Side A  - Original album:

  1. Sound & Color
  2. Don’t Wanna Fight
  3. Dunes 
  4. Future People

Side B - Original album:

  1. Gimme All Your Love
  2. This Feeling
  3. Guess Who
  4. The Greatest
  5. Shoegaze

Side C - Original album plus two bonus songs:

  1. Miss You
  2. Gemini
  3. Over My Head
  4. Drive By Baby  (bonus song)
  5. Joe  (bonus song)

Side D - All new bonus material:

  1. Someday  (b-side/unreleased)
  2. Don’t Wanna Fight (Live from Capitol Studio A)
  3. Future People (Live from Capitol Studio A)
  4. Dunes (Live from Capitol Studio A)
  5. Over My Head (Live from Capitol Studio A)