Twinkle Brothers

Rasta Pon Top

  • Sale
  • Regular price £16.99
  • In Stock

Product Info

Limited LP : Red Vinyl

More Info

The Twinkle Brothers’ classic debut album originally issued in the UK on the old Grounation label in 1975 and now reissued on 180 gram red vinyl by Burning Sounds.

The Twinkle Brothers were formed in 1962 by brothers Norman (vocals, drums) and Ralston Grant (vocals, rhythm guitar) from Falmouth, Jamaica. The band was expanded with the addition of Eric Barnard (piano), Karl Hyatt (vocals, percussion), and Albert Green (congas, percussion).

After winning local talent competitions, they recorded their first single, "Somebody Please Help Me," in 1966 for producer Leslie Kong. This was followed by sessions for other top Jamaican producers such as Duke Reid, Lee "Scratch" Perry, Sid Bucknor, Phil Pratt, and Bunny Lee. The band worked in the late 1960s and early 1970s on the island's hotel circuit, playing a mixture of calypso, soul, pop, and soft reggae, and in the early 1970s, they began producing their own recordings. Their debut album, Rasta Pon Top, was released in 1975, featuring strongly-Rastafari-oriented songs such as "Give Rasta Praise" and "Beat Them Jah Jah" and now given the reissue treatment by Burning Sound on 180 gram red vinyl.

  1. Give Rasta Praise
  2. Natty Dread Uptown
  3. Jah Jah Gonna Get You
  4. Barrabas
  5. Rasta Pon Top
  6. Beat Them Jah-Jah
  7. African Liberation
  8. Different Kind A World
  9. Big Bam Bam
  10. It Gwine Dreada