Belle & Sebastian

Push Barman To Open Old Wounds (2020 Reissue)

  • Sale
  • Regular price £34.99
  • Available to buy In Stock

Product Info

3LP limited edition : clear vinyl

2CD : bonus deluxe booklet

More Info

The songs included on the album date back to the early days of the band’s career in 1997 when they released 3 four track EPs (‘Dog On Wheels’, ‘Lazy Line Painter Jane’ and ‘3..6..9 Seconds of Light’) to bridge the time between the release of their albums ‘If You’re Feeling Sinister’ (1996) and ‘The Boy With The Arab Strap’ (1998). Also included is the band’s most successful single ‘Legal Man’ which reached number 15 in the UK chart in May 2000. The set concludes with the band’s last Jeepster single release ‘I’m Waking Up To Us’ providing an attractive access point to the band’s catalogue for new fans who may have only heard their later work.

None of these songs feature on Belle & Sebastian’s albums and as individual singles they are increasingly rare.

The album is named for a piece of graffiti seen in some toilets in a bar in Glasgow.


1. Dog On Wheels
2. The State I Am In
3. String Bean Jean
4. Belle & Sebastian
5. Lazy Line Painter Jane
6. You Made Me Forget My Dreams
7. A Century Of Elvis
8. Photo Jenny
9. A Century of Fakers
10. Le Pastie De La Bourgeoisie
11. Beautiful
12. Put The Book Back On the Shelf
13. This Is Just A Modern Rock Song
14. I Know Where The Summer Goes
15. The Gate
16. Slow Graffiti
17. Legal Man
18. Judy Is A Dick Slap
19. Winter Wooskie
20. Jonathan David
21. Take Your Carriage Clock And Shove It
22. The Loneliness of A Middle Distance Runner
23. I’m Waking Up To Us
24. I Love My Car
25. Marx And Engels