Allisson Russell

Outside Child

1 review

  • Sale
  • Regular price £28.99
  • Available to buy Available to buy

Product Info

Limited LP : Orange Vinyl

More Info

“I've made my first ever solo record, Outside Child. It's an autobiographical song cycle - a childhood memoir of sorts. I grew up in Montreal with a sexually/physically/psychologically abusive and bigoted adoptive father and a schizophrenic mother. I ran away at 15 -  eventually all the way to Vancouver, where music found me and saved me. This album spans that journey.”

Allison Russell is a self-taught singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist of extraordinary power, talent and grace. A founding member of the acclaimed groups Our Native Daughters (with Rhiannon Giddens, Leyla McCalla and Amythyst Kiah), and Birds of Chicago (with her husband/musical partner JT Nero), the Montreal native has begun to emerge as a potent force among creative circles in both Chicago and Nashville where she currently lives with her husband and their young daughter. 

On her first solo album, Outside Child, Allison shares the harrowing story of her abusive childhood in a deeply moving, unforgettable song-cycle of courage, empathy, hope and love.  Produced by Dan Nobler (Lake Street Dive, Rodney Crowell, Erin Rae), Outside Child was recorded at Sound Emporium, Studio A, in Nashville and features contributions from the McCrary Sisters, Yola and Erin Rae among many others.  The album will be released on May 21st, 2021 via Fantasy Records.

With its vivid detail, brilliant songwriting and fearless soul, Outside Child is both a triumphant artistic statement and life affirming achievement. 

  1. Montreal
  2. Nightflyer
  3. Persephone
  4. 4th Day Prayer
  5. The Runner
  6. Hy-Brasil
  7. The Hunters
  8. All of the Women
  9. Poison Arrow
  10. Little Rebirth
  11. Joyful Motherfuckers


Customer Reviews
5.0 Based on 1 Reviews
Write a Review Ask a Question
  • Reviews
  • Questions

Thank you for submitting a review!

Your input is very much appreciated. Share it with your friends so they can enjoy it too!

Filter Reviews:
Richard P.
United Kingdom United Kingdom
I recommend this product
Exceptional singer; exceptional record

My expectations were high for Ms Russell’s first solo record. Not high enough as it turns out. Listening to many of these songs isn’t easy but the reward is worth it. Allison exorcises her demons with songs of great beauty and performances, abetted by a fine supporting cast, which simply stunning. To be honest writing about it is a bit pointless. I’m off to listen to it again.