Various Artists

Odyssey: The Sound Of Ivor Raymonde Vol II

  • Sale
  • Regular price $39.00
  • In Stock Available to buy

More Info
"Odyssey: The Sound Of Ivor Raymonde Volume Two" is Bella Union’s follow-up to the critically acclaimed "Paradise: The Sound Of Ivor Raymonde". The new compilation is a further celebration of the great British arranger, musical director, producer and songwriter Ivor Raymonde, who died at age 63 in 1990. Bella Union, the label behind both releases, is run by Ivor’s son Simon Raymonde.
Like Paradise , Odyssey has been compiled by Simon with author, journalist and music historian Kieron Tyler. Simon explains that: “The research Kieron and I did for Paradise showed us that there was still an extremely rich seam of his music to be uncovered. A follow-up volume was increasingly inevitable”.

Odyssey is additional confirmation of the seemingly limitless scope of Ivor’s talents. More hits are featured: the Alan Price Set’s irresistible Top Five interpretation of Randy Newman’s “Simon Smith And The Amazing Dancing Bear”, Dusty Springfield’s kinetic “Little By Little”, Frankie Vaughan’s epic chart topper “Tower Of Strength” and the aural drama of Marty Wilde And His Wildcats’ “Endless Sleep”. There are also lesser-known tracks by best-sellers: Los
Bravos’ Raymonde-composed soul stomper “Brand New Baby”, Cat Stevens’ moody “Blackness Of The Night” and the extraordinary 1966 Walker Brothers’ album track “Where's The Girl”, which pointed to where the solo Scott Walker would soon be heading.
1. Dusty Springfield: Little By Little

2. Alan Price Set Simon: Smith And The Amazing Dancing Bear

3. Los Bravos: Brand New Baby

4. The Eyes Of Blue: Don’t Ask Me To Mend Your Broken Heart

5. The Chants: Wearing A Smile

6. Susan Maughan: That Other Place

7. Kathy Kirby: The Way Of Love

8. Cat Stevens: Blackness Of The Night

9. Paul Slade: Odyssey

10. Frankie Vaughan: Tower Of Strength

11. The Martells: Time To Say Goodnight

12. The Cryin’ Shames: Please Stay

13. Roy Orbison: Pretty Paper

14. The Outlaws: Swingin’ Low

15. Ronnie Carroll Chain Gang

16. Del Shannon: From Me To You

17. The Chucks: Loo-Be-Loo

18. Olé Jose & The Golden Leaves: Tequila 68

19. The Rogues: Memories Of Missy

20. Marty Wilde And His Wildcats: Endless Sleep

21. Giles, Giles & Fripp: Thursday Morning

22. Twinkle: Michael Hannah

23. Christopher Colt: Girl In The Mirror

24. The Stylistics: I Feel Lucky Tonight

25. The Walker Brothers: Where's The Girl