The Sound

New Way Of Life

  • Sale
  • Regular price £23.99
  • In Stock

More Info

The Sound were an English post-punk band that formed in South London in 1979. The band was formed by lead vocalist, guitarist, and songwriter Adrian Borland, drummer Mike Dudley, bassist Graham Bailey, and keyboardist Benita “Bi” Marshall. The Sound became known for their introspective lyrics and soaring melodies, and their debut album ‘Jeopardy’ was highly influential in the post-punk movement. Despite critical acclaim, the band never reached the same commercial heights as their peers and disbanded in 1988 but their music has maintained a cult following and is revered by post-punk and alternative music fans.

Demon Records is proud to present “new way of life” – a new collection featuring The Sound’s ‘lost’ demo recordings, on vinyl for the first time.

These recordings capture urgent, high energy versions of tracks from the Statik Records era including ‘Counting The Days’, ‘Whirlpool’, and ‘Love Is Not A Ghost’.

Featuring new artwork from acclaimed photographer and filmmaker Nigel Grierson. Grierson previously worked on artwork for The Sound’s ‘Head And Hearts’ album as part of legendary design duo 23 Envelope with Vaughan Oliver.

Previously only available on CD as part of the 2015 Edsel boxset, these demo recordings have been newly remastered for this release by Phil Kinrade at AIR Mastering. Pressed on 140g vinyl, cut by Barry Grint at AIR Mastering.


Side 1
1. Golden Soldiers
2. “new way of life”
3. Counting The Days
4. Mining For Heart
5. Oiled

Side 2
1. Steel Your Air
2. Fall Of Europe
3. Love Is Not A Ghost
4. Blood And Poison
5. Whirlpool