The Band

Music From Big Pink

  • Sale
  • Regular price £5.99
  • Unavailable

Product Info

The Band’s landmark debut album, Music from Big Pink, seemed to spring from nowhere and everywhere. Drawing from the American roots music panoply of country, blues, R&B, gospel, soul, rockabilly, the honking tenor sax tradition, hymns, funeral dirges, brass band music, folk, and rock ‘n’ roll, The Band forged a timeless new style that forever changed the course of popular music. Fifty years later, the mythology surrounding Music from Big Pink lives on through the evocative storytelling of its songs including “The Weight,” “This Wheel’s On Fire,” “Tears of Rage,” and “To Kingdom Come,” its enigmatic cover art painted by Bob Dylan, the salmon-colored upstate New York house – ‘Big Pink’ — where The Band wrote the songs, and in myriad descendant legends carried forth since the album’s stunning arrival.

More Info

50th anniversary. With bonus tracks.


1 Tears of Rage
2 To Kingdom Come
3 In a Station
4 Caledonia Mission
5 The Weight
6 We Can Talk
7 Long Black Veil
8 Chest Fever
9 Lonesome Suzie
10 This Wheel's On Fire
11 I Shall Be Released
12 Yazoo Street Scandal (Outtake)
13 Tears of Rage
14 Long Distance (Outtake)
15 Lonesome Suzie
16 Key to the Highway (Outtake)
17 I Shall Be Released (A Cappella)