The Milkshakes

Milk Box

  • Sale
  • Regular price £18.99
  • In Stock

Product Info
More Info

A boxed set of 4 CDs featuring four classic albums by The Milkshakes. The four albums in the set are - Talking 'Bout Milkshakes/

After School Session/Thee Knights Of Trashe/The Milkshakes Revenge!. THE MILKSHAKES were mainly Mickey Hampshire (Git/Vox); Billy Childish (Git/Vox); Bruce Brand (Drums); Russ Wilkins (Bass). When punk rock group the Pop Rivets broke up in 1980, Billy Childish joined forces with Mickey Hampshire, a Pop Rivets roadie who had been performing in a group called Mickey and the Milkshakes with his cohort Banana Bertie. The two began writing songs together and the group released their first LP, Talking ’bout Milkshakes! in 1981. With Childish and Hampshire sharing guitar and vocal duties, Bruce Brand on drums, and Bertie on bass (later replaced by Russ Wilkins then John Agnew), the Milkshakes’ sound was a primitive blend of British beat groups, like the early Kinks at their toughest, and hard-rocking American guitar instrumentalists like Link Wray. This sound came to be known as the “Medway sound” and the core members have been playing a variation on it throughout their whole careers. The Milkshakes were a very prolific group, recording nine records in their four years together, and the band was very much a blend of Childish’s primitive songwriting and Hampshire’s more melodic leanings. The group also masterminded and backed a Medway girl group, the Delmonas.When Mickey left The Milkshakes in 1984 Childish, Brand and Agnew went on to form Thee Mighty Caesars. Mickey and Bruce now play in The Masonics along with Ludella Black from The Del Monas, and Russ lives in Scotland and fronts the Wildebeests as well as being Lord Rochester.


1. She'll Be Mine
2. Pretty Baby
3. For She
4. I Want'cha For My Little Girl
5. Ruhrgebeat
6. After Midnight
7. Bull's Nose
8. Shed Country
9. Don't Love Another
10. Tell Me Where's That Girl
11. Can'tcha See
12.Love You Through the Whole Night
13. Nothing You Can Say or Do
14. I Say You Lie
15. Shimmy Shake
16. I Can Tell
17. Tell Me Child
18. Goodbye Girl
19. More Honey
20. Soldiers of Love
21. El Salvador
22. Let's Stomp
23. Hide and Scatter
24. Jaguar
25. That Girl of Mine
26. You Can Only Lose
27. Little Minnie
28. Cadillac
29. I'll Use Evil
30. What You've Got
31. Girl, It No Good
32. I'm Out of Control
33. I Dreamt Last Night (That I Lay Dead)
34. Bill's Beat (Instrumental)
35. Old Time Shimmy
36. Can't Seem to Love That Girl
37. Club M.I.C. (Instrumental)
38. Despite the Danger
39. You're Asking Too Much
40. Cassandra
41. Green Hornet
42. Let Me Love You
43. I Want You
44. If I Saw You
45. Graveyard Words
46. Boys
47. Little Girl Be Good
48. Pipeline
49. She Tells Me She Loves Me
50. Little Girl (Mumble The eg)
51. Every Girl I Meet
52. The One I Get
53. Baby What's Wrong