Mary Love

Lay This Burden Down

  • Sale
  • Regular price £18.99
  • In Stock

Product Info

Mary Love's vocals top and tailed the first two ground-breaking UK Kent LPs in 1982 and she has had a place in the hearts of Kent collectors ever since. Her twelve solo recordings for Los Angeles Modern label covered the golden age of soul music 1965 to 1967 and varied from her famous uptempo, Motown-inspired, dance tracks to beautiful ballads, raunchy blues-based numbers and even a gospel-tinged rave up on Dance Children Dance. Kent have collected them all onto a vinyl LP for the first time and added two highlights from her self-produced, soulful gospel tracks, recorded in the 80s. That era was indeed her second coming, musically as well as spiritually. Come Out Of The Sandbox from that period has taken on anthemic status among European soul fans. You Turned My Bitter Into Sweet, Lay This Burden Down and Let Me Know have already achieved that standing among Northern Soul fans, who have danced along for fifty years. The more tender side of her work can be heard in Ashford and Simpson's ballad Baby I'll Come and her only Modern hit, the sensual Move A Little Closer, is another show-stopper. The album cover is a must for connoisseurs of glamorous coiffure.


A1 You Turned My Bitter Into Sweet 2:23
A2 Let Me Know 2:56
A3 Hey Stoney Face 2:26
A4 I've Gotta Get You Back 2:45
A5 I'm In Your Hands 2:33
A6 Move A Little Closer 2:36
A7 Baby, I'll Come 3:19
B1 Lay This Burden Down 2:36
B2 Satisfied Feeling 2:06
B3 Dance Children Dance 1:52
B4 Think It Over Baby 2:56
B5 Talkin' About My Man 3:32
B6 Come Out Of The Sandbox 4:12
B7 The Price 5:26