G.C. Cameron

Live For Love

  • Sale
  • Regular price £15.99
  • In Stock

More Info

Hailing from McCall Creek, Mississippi, G.C. Cameron rose to fame at 22 years of age, when he joined Motown Records to become lead singer of legendary group The Spinners. After a string of well received releases, including chartbuster It's A Shame, co-written and produced by Stevie Wonder, Cameron left The Spinners to pursue a solo career.

It was a trip to Fantasy Studios, San Francisco in 1977, where Cameron teamed up with Harvey Faqua, Greg Crockett and Elgie Stover to realise what is arguably his fnest work. A full album was recorded, but only two tracks saw the light of day, via the short-lived UK label, Flamingo.

Soundway presents a four track EP, comprised of the two in- demand cuts previously released on Flamingo - the deep and dubby disco-workout If I Love You (Instrumental) and soul drenched ballad Live For Love, coupled with two unreleased recordings rescued from the abyss after 45 years of collecting dust. The modern- soul- dancer Thank You Baby, backed by Jeanie Tracy and MarthaWalsh, is a jewel that displays Cameron's full range whilst the vocal to I Love You elevates the recording to dancefloor ready and joins the dots that never existed.


1. If I Love You
2. If I Love You (Instrumental)
3. Thank You Baby
4. Live For Love