Climax Blues Band

Live at the BBC 1970-1978

  • Sale
  • Regular price £29.99
  • In Stock

Product Info

180 gram vinyl.

More Info

21 rare tracks from the BBC archives, remastered and on vinyl for the first time.
Includes the international hit single ‘Couldn’t Get It Right’ and other other highlights from 1970 to 1978.
Cut for vinyl at Abbey Road Studios and pressed on heavy weight 180g black vinyl.
Features a gatefold sleeve plus a 12” insert with liner notes by founding band member, Derek Holt and renowned music journalist, Chris Welch.
A rare set of historic performances by the Climax Blues Band is unveiled on this double LP set of high quality radio show recordings, recently discovered among the BBC archives. Heard for the fi rst time on vinyl, these expertly remastered tracks from 1970 to 1978, capture the unique ‘Climax sound’ with its blend of vocal harmonies, sax and guitar, created by the late Peter Haycock (guitar) and Colin Cooper (vocals and saxophone). LP 1 has 10 tracks with ‘Spoonful,’ ‘Goin’ To New York’ and ‘Mole On The Dole’ among the highlights. LP 2 has a further 11 items including ‘Milwaukee Trucking Blues’ and the international hit single ‘Couldn’t Get It Right’ . Extensive liner notes by Chris Welch, aided by founder member bass guitarist Derek Holt, tell the fascinating story of the group and background to these long lost recordings.


Side 1
01 Spoonful
02 Country Hat
03 Morning, Noon And Night
04 Flight
05 Shoot Her If She Runs

Side 2
01 Goin’ to New York
02 Standing By A River
03 Mole On The Dole
04 Before You Reach The Grave
05 Amerita/Sense Of Direction

Side 3
01 Right Now
02 Losing The Humbles
03 Shopping Bag People
04 Reaching Out
05 Milwaukee Trucking Blues

Side 4
01 Couldn’t Get It Right
02 Together And Free
03 Running Out Of Time
04 I Am Constant
05 Mistress Moonshine
06 When Talking Is Too Much Trouble