Stevie Wonder

Journey Through The Secret Life Of Plants

  • Sale
  • Regular price £8.99
  • In Stock

Product Info

Plants is a sprawling, fascinating album. Though it is dominated by synthesizer-heavy instrumental pieces with evocative titles, there is a handful of full-blown songs. The gorgeous, mostly acoustic ballad “Send One Your Love” was a Top Ten R&B single, while the joyous “Outside My Window” registered in the Top 60. Beyond that, there’s the deep classic “Come Back as a Flower,” a gently lapping, piano-led ballad featuring Syreeta on vocals. Otherwise, there are playfully oddball tracks like “Venus’ Flytrap and the Bug,” where Wonder chirps “Please don’t eat me!” through robotizing effects, and “A Seed’s a Star,” which incorporates crowd noise, a robotized monologue, and a shrieking Tata Vega over a funkier and faster version of Yellow Magic Orchestra.

More Info

1 Earth's Creation
2 The First Garden
3 Voyage To India
4 Same Old Story
5 Venus' Flytrap And The Bug
6 Ai No, Sono
7 Seasons
8 Power Flower
9 Send One Your Love
10 Race Babbling
Disc: 2
1 Send One Your Love
2 Outside My Window
3 Black Orchid
4 Ecclesiastes
5 Kesse Ye Lolo De Ye
6 Come Back As A Flower
7 A Seed's A Star/Tree Medley
8 The Secret Life of Plants
9 Tree
10 Finale