Elvis Presley

Is Back!

  • Sale
  • Regular price £12.99
  • Available to buy

Product Info

Limited LP : Blue Vinyl

More Info

Although they have common recording origins, two of the three singles, "It's Now or Never" and "Are You Lonesome Tonight," were very quirky by the standards of Elvis songs at the time -- the former inspired by Elvis's admiration for Tony Martin's 1949 hit "There's No Tomorrow," while the latter was recorded at the request of Col. Parker as a favor to his wife. They add to the diversity of sounds on this record, which shows a mature Elvis Presley. "Dirty, Dirty Feeling" and "It Feels So Right" showed he could still rock out and challenge authority and propriety, while "Reconsider Baby" and "Like a Baby" offer some of his best blues performances; but "The Thrill of Your Love" (a very gospel-tinged number), "Soldier Boy," "Girl of My Best Friend," and "Girl Next Door Went a' Walking," also displayed the rich, deep vocalizing that would challenge critics' expectations of Elvis Presley playing rhythm guitar throughout. He also comes off better than on any of his other albums since arriving at RCA, as a musician as much as a "star" (he'd always had a lot more to say about running his sessions than the critics who loathed his RCA years indicated).


A1 - Make Me Know It
A2 - Fever
A3 - The Girl of My Best Friend
A4 - I Will Be Home Again
A5 - Dirty Dirty Feeling
A6 - Thrill of Your Love
B1 - Soldier Boy
B2 - Such a Night
B3 - Ir Feels So Right
B4 - The Girl Next Door Went A Walking
B5 - Like a Baby
B6 - Reconsider Baby