The Weeknd

House Of Balloons

  • Sale
  • Regular price £5.99
  • In Stock

More Info

Taken as mood music designed for toxic and illicit late-night situations, House of Balloons -- the debut from Toronto vocalist Abel Tesfaye (aka The Weeknd), released as a free download on his Tumblr blog -- can make for absorptive listening. Joined by producers Doc McKinney and Illangelo, Zodiac, and Rainer, Tesfaye -- to lift a phrase from David Toop -- exemplifies the combination of "sugar and poison" that has powered R&B throughout its evolution. Tesfaye's voice is a gentle, bruised, and occasionally gorgeous-sounding instrument that, through mere sound and words, mixes based belligerence with palpable inner turmoil.


1 High For This
2 What You Need
3 House Of Balloons / Glass Table Girls
4 The Morning
5 Wicked Games
6 The Party & The After Party
7 Coming Down
8 Loft Music
9 The Knowing
10 Twenty Eight