Horace Silver

6 Pieces of Silver (DOL Reissue)

  • Released: 2017
  • Label: DOL
  • Genre: JAZZ

  • Sale
  • Regular price £12.99
  • In Stock

Product Info

The first classic album by the Horace Silver Quintet, this set is highlighted by "Señor Blues" and "Cool Eyes." The early Silver quintet of 1956 was essentially the Jazz Messengers of the year before, with trumpeter Donald Byrd, tenor saxophonist Hank Mobley, and bassist Doug Watkins (while drummer Louis Hayes was in Blakey's place), but already the band was starting to develop a sound of its own. "Señor Blues" officially put Horace Silver on the map, and the album is a hard bop and gospel-tinged jazz gem.


A1 Cool Eyes
A2 Shirl
A3 Camouflage
A4 Enchantment
B1 Senor Blues
B2 Virgo
B3 For Heavens Sake