• Sale
  • Regular price £5.99
  • Unavailable In Stock

More Info

Goo is the sixth studio album by American alternative rock band Sonic Youth, released on June 26, 1990 by DGC Records. For this album, the band sought to expand upon its trademark alternating guitar arrangements and the layered sound of their previous album Daydream Nation (1988). The band's songwriting on Goo is more topical than past works, exploring themes of female empowerment and pop culture. Coming off the success of Daydream Nation, Nick Sansano returned to engineer Goo, but veteran producer Ron Saint Germain was chosen by Sonic Youth to finish mixing the album following Sansano's dismissal.

Goo was a critical and commercial success upon its release, peaking at number 96 on the US Billboard 200, their highest chart position to date. Although it lacked significant radio airplay, its lead single "Kool Thing", a collaborative effort with Public Enemy's Chuck D, reached number seven on the Billboard Modern Rock Tracks chart. Since then, Goo has been viewed as one of alternative rock's most important albums, and is considered musically and artistically significant album.


Dirty Boots 5:24
Tunic (Song For Karen) 6:17
Mary-Christ 3:08
Kool Thing 4:04
Mote 7:36
My Friend Goo 2:18
Disappearer 5:08
Mildred Pierce 2:12
Cinderella's Big Score 5:50
Scooter + Jinx 1:00
Titanium Exposé 6:26