Porcupine Tree

Fear Of A Blank Planet

  • Sale
  • Regular price £34.99
  • Unavailable

More Info

“An aggressively modern merger of Rush’s arena art rock, U.K. prog classicism especially Pink Floyd and King Crimson and the post-grunge vengeance of Tool.” - Rolling Stone

Having recently announced that Snapper Music will be representing Porcupine Tree’s Transmission label worldwide, new CD and LP reissues of the band’s extensive catalogue will roll out throughout 2021. Originally released in 2007, ‘Fear Of A Blank Planet’ was Porcupine Tree’s ninth studio album. It was the band’s biggest selling album at the time, was their first album to break into the Billboard top 100 in the USA as well as charting across Europe, earned the band a Grammy nomination and has been featured in Rolling Stone Magazine’s Greatest Prog Albums Of All Time.

‘Fear Of A Blank Planet’ was an ambitious 50-minute piece of music made of 6 tracks that flow together to create a cohesive whole, the British art-rockers Porcupine Tree created a concept album based on the Bret Easton Ellis novel ‘Lunar Park’, with lyrics that addressed how the adolescent protagonist battled his bipolar and attention-deficit disorders with a regimen of prescription drugs and Internet overstimulation. The music used sprawling vocal melodies, atmospheric guitars and drums that tumbled through chaotic passages to echo the main character’s manic-depressive states. ‘Fear Of A Blank Planet’ features guest appearances from Robert Fripp (King Crimson) & Rush guitarist Alex Lifeson.

Porcupine Tree released their last album, ‘The Incident’, in 2009, marking another step forward in the incredible journey of the band that began as a solo studio project created by Steven Wilson in the late eighties to a multi grammy nominated act and one of the world’s most revered live bands, selling out arenas across the globe and wowing fans with their incredible performances. This new Transmission version of ‘Fear Of A Blank Planet’ will be released as a 2LP gatefold 140gm edition.

“A dramatic, wide-screen, expertly executed, genuinely thrilling rock record.” - Q Magazine


Fear Of A Blank Planet ( 07:28 ) / My Ashes ( 05:09 ) / Anesthetize ( 17:52 ) / Sentimental ( 05:26 ) / Way Out Of Here ( 07:37 ) / Sleep Together ( 07:28 )