• Sale
  • Regular price $35.00
  • In Stock

More Info

The debut album from Electronic, consisting of Johnny Marr from The Smiths and Bernard Sumner of New Order, originally released in 1994. This reissue features the black cover on vinyl for the very first time, which was first used on the original CD version.
1987 was the year of the sudden and wholly unexpected demise of The Smiths, who imploded in July after Marr left the group. Two months later, midway through a North American tour, Bernard Sumner shocked his bandmates by announcing that he planned to take time out from New Order. Marr and Sumner had met in 1984 when Marr added guitar to Atom Rock by Quando Quango, an electro-dance track co-produced by Sumner. Marr sums up their coming together for Electronic; ‘We were two musicians who wanted to get away from the suffocating politics of the band. At the same time, it was OK for duos and DJs and non-groups to make records, and that really appealed to Bernard and me.”
The project was a joyous Venn Diagram of Sumner and Marr’s influences. Although ostensibly coming from different disciplines, the experimental dance-pop of New Order and the fullbodied jangle of The Smiths, their common interests were many: dance music, a good tune and pushing musical boundaries. 


Idiot Country 5:03
Reality 5:40
Tighten Up 4:38
The Patience Of A Saint 4:11
Gangster 5:27
Soviet 2:01
Get The Message 5:21
Try All You Want 5:38
Some Distant Memory 4:11
Feel Every Beat 5:07