The Black Keys

El Camino (10th Anniversary Edition)

  • Sale
  • £49.99
  • Regular price £138.99
  • Unavailable Unavailable Unavailable Unavailable

Product Info

Limited Edition Super Deluxe 5LP :

Five heavyweight 140-gram high-performance vinyl discs, limited edition and individually numbered box, 100-page photo book, car shaped air freshener, lithograph and poster

More Info

The Black Keys release a special tenth anniversary edition of their landmark seventh studio.  El Camino (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) will be available in several formats including a Super Deluxe edition of five vinyl LPs or four CDs, featuring a remastered version of the original album, a previously unreleased Live in Portland, ME concert recording, a BBC Radio 1 Zane Lowe session from 2012, a 2011 Electro-Vox session, an extensive photo book, a limited-edition poster and lithograph, and a ‘new car scent’ air freshener.  A three-LP edition, which includes the remastered album and the live recording, will also be available.  The Super Deluxe version will also be available digitally. 

El Camino was produced by Danger Mouse and The Black Keys and was recorded in the band’s then-new hometown of Nashville during the spring of 2011.  The Black Keys won three awards at the 55th annual GRAMMY Awards for El Camino – Best Rock Performance, Best Rock Song, and Best Rock Album – among other worldwide accolades.  In the UK, the band was nominated for a BRIT Award (Best International Group) and an NME Award (Best International Band).  The week of release, the band performed on Saturday Night Live, The Colbert Report, and the Late Show with David Letterman, and later that year, went on to perform their first Madison Square Garden show.

Rolling Stone, which featured the band on their cover around the release, hailed El Camino for bringing ‘raw, riffed-out power back to pop’s lexicon,’ and called it ‘the Keys’ grandest pop gesture yet, augmenting dark-hearted fuzz blasts with sleekly sexy choruses and Seventies-glam flair.’  The Guardian said, ‘They sound like a band who think they've made the year's best rock'n'roll album, probably because that's exactly what they've done.’ 

In the newly written liner notes for El Camino (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition), David Fricke says:

The story of the Black Keys' seventh album, named after an automobile, long out of fashion and featured nowhere in the artwork, begins on a sidewalk in the middle of a blizzard.  On the afternoon of January 9, 2011, singer-guitarist Dan Auerbach and drummer Patrick Carney stood on the pavement outside the Bowery Hotel in New York City, saw the weather turning vicious, looked at each other and came to the same decision: They had to get off the road.

The night before, the duo scored another first in a season getting crowded with them: The Black Keys' debut appearance on Saturday Night Live, performing ‘Howlin' for You’ and ‘Tighten Up’, the breakout singles from their latest release, Brothers.  Two days earlier, Brothers – the Keys' first Top 5 album, released in May 2010 – became their first Gold record, passing a half-million in sales thanks to heavy FM rotation and a near-year of gigging, now set to run deep into 2011 including a prestige slot at Coachella and victory laps in Europe and Australia. 

The Keys "tried to settle down" after cancelling the tour, Carney says.  But that didn't last. "I said, 'We should just make another record.'  And I asked Dan if we should get Danger Mouse" – the hip-hop and modern-rock producer, real name Brian Burton, who worked on the Keys' 2008 record, Attack & Release, and co-produced ‘Tighten Up’.  Auerbach and Carney did not have any new songs, but as the drummer notes, "Most of our records – we don't have material when we start.  Brothers was made up in the studio."  


Disc 1: El Camino (2021 Remaster)

Side A

  1. Lonely Boy        
  2. Dead and Gone
  3. Gold on the Ceiling              
  4. Little Black Submarines      
  5. Money Maker

Side B

  1. Run Right Back       
  2. Sister                        
  3. Hell of a Season     
  4. Stop Stop                 
  5. Nova Baby               
  6. Mind Eraser             

Disc 2: Live in Portland, ME.

(Part 1)

Side C

  1. Howlin’ for You
  2. Next Girl
  3. Run Right Back
  4. Same Old Thing
  5. Dead and Gone

Side D

  1. Gold on the Ceiling
  2. Thickfreakness
  3. Girl Is on My Mind
  4. I'll Be Your Man / Your Touch
  5. Little Black Submarines


DISC 3: Live in Portland, ME.

(Part 2)

Side E

  1. Money Maker
  2. Strange Times         
  3. Chop and Change
  4. Nova Baby
  5. Ten Cent Pistol

Side F

  1. Tighten Up
  2. Lonely Boy
  3. Everlasting Light
  4. She’s Long Gone
  5. I Got Mine

DISC 4: BBC Session

Side A

  1. Howlin’ for You *     
  2. Next Girl *                 
  3. Gold on the Ceiling *                  
  4. Thickfreakness *     
  5. I’ll Be Your Man *    
  6. Your Touch *

Side B

  1. Little Black Submarines *          
  2. Dead and Gone *
  3. Tighten Up *
  4. Lonely Boy *
  5. I Got Mine *

DISC 5: Electro-Vox Session

Side A

  1. Dead and Gone *    
  2. Gold on the Ceiling *
  3. Howlin’ for You *     
  4. Lonely Boy *

Side B

  1. Money Maker *     
  2. Next Girl *
  3. Run Right Back * 
  4. Sister *
  5. Tighten Up *

* Super Deluxe Editions only