Brian Eno

Discreet Music

  • Sale
  • Regular price £21.99
  • Unavailable Unavailable Unavailable

More Info

The 4th solo album from Brian Eno, originally released in 1975. Like 1973's "No Pussyfooting" (with Robert Fripp) or sections of previous solo album "Another Green World", this album shows further development towards the ambient music Eno would release commencing with 1978's "Ambient 1: Music For Airports".

The title track is a half hour long track using tape-delay and synthesizer, originally intended to be a backdrop for Robert Fripp to improvise along with at live shows. The 2nd side consists of three connected pieces, collectively titled "Three Variations on the Canon in D Major by Johann Pachelbel" and performed by the Cockpit Ensemble, conducted and co-arranged by Gavin Bryars. Each member of the ensemble were given brief excerpts from the score, which were repeated several times, along with instructions to gradually alter the tempo and other elements of the composition.

2LP is half-speed mastered at Abbey Road


Discreet Music
Three Variations On The Canon In D Major By Johann Pachelbel: 
-Fullness Of Wind
-French Catalogues
-Brutal Ardour