Coleman Hawkins & Ben Webster

Encounters Ben Webster (Acoustic Sounds)

  • Released: 08/12/2023
  • Label: Verve
  • Genre: Jazz

  • Sale
  • Regular price $51.00
  • In Stock

More Info
This 1957 date, produced by Norman Granz, finds the two tenors matching wits with accompaniment from Oscar Peterson, Herb Ellis, Ray Brown, and Alvin Stoller. From Hawkins' screaming solo on the opener "Blues for Yolanda" to the beautiful give-and-take on the ballads "It Never Entered My Mind" and "Prisoner of Love", this classic set is warm, lyrical and essential. Verve’s Acoustic Sounds Series features transfers from analog tapes and remastered 180-gram vinyl in deluxe gatefold packaging.

Side A
1. Blues For Yolande
2. It Never Entered My Mind
3. Rosita

Side B
1. You'd Be Nice To Come Home To
2. Prisoner Of Love
3. Tangerine
4. Shine On Harvest Moon