Josephine Foster

Blood Rushing (10th Anniversary)

  • Sale
  • Regular price £19.99
  • In Stock Available to buy

More Info

Tenth anniversary reissue of Josephine Foster’s lauded ninth album ‘Blood Rushing’.

The North American Colorado based singer-songwriter has lent her warbling mezzo-soprano and interpretive wit to nearly two decades of self-produced recordings. Foster’s songs are rooted in early American folk-blues as well as classical art song and Tin Pan Alley.

A rock-ballet chanté, the music is set to a Pueblo drum's metapulsing Pan-American heartbeat. Recorded in Colorado by Andrija Tokic (Alabama Shakes) with the collaboration of her partner Spanish guitarist Victor Herrero, and musicians Paz Lenchantin (The Entrance Band), Heather Trost (A Hawk and a Hacksaw) and Ben Trimble (Fly Golden Eagle). A story within a story, ‘Blood Rushing’ is a glimpse into the world of Blushing, a heteronym of the artist Josephine Foster.

“North American folk linage from Jean Ritchie and Hedy West through to the present, via the chugging, churning electronic (folk) rock of The Velvet Underground, all the time infused with a joyous communal warmth.” Mojo

“Magnificent” ★★★★ AllMusic

“Strangely compelling” Uncut

★★★★ Mojo


Side A
A1 Waterfall
A2 Panorama Wide
A3 Sacred Is The Star
A4 Child Of God

Side B
B1 Blood Rushing
B2 The Wave Of Love
B3 O Stars
B4 Geyser
B5 Underwater Daughter
B6 Words Come Loose