Stranger Inside

  • Sale
  • Regular price £7.99
  • In Stock In Stock

Product Info


More Info

As an ex-founder of the new-wave pioneers Japan, Richard Barbieri was a leader in creating the ground-breaking synthesiser sound that defined the band and influenced the likes of The Human League, Duran Duran, Gary Numan, Talk Talk and a whole raft of artists to follow. Together, the band record five studio albums culminating in the groundbreaking 'Tin Drum', which stayed in the UK Albums Chart for a year. Following Japan, Barbieri joined Steven Wilson to form the legendary progressive outfit Porcupine Tree, has since released these two solo studio albums and announced a third, 'Planets + Persona', due for release 3rd March 2017.

His ear for composing unique soundscapes and synth textures recently led to collaborations with other talented composers, such as Steve Hogarth (Marillion) Steve Jansen & Mick Karn (Japan) and Steven Wilson (Porcupine Tree).

Kscope are re-releasing Barbieri's first two solo albums as a mid-price double album CD collection. 'Things Buried' is Barbieri's debut solo album; an instrumental work that highlights Barbieri's unique approach to sound and mood, ranging from textural atmospherics to dynamic rhythmic passages. The album also features the distinctive styles of Percy Jones (Brian Eno, Brand X) on fretless bass guitar and Andy Gangadeen (The Bays, Massive Attack) on Drums.

The second solo album, 'Stranger Inside', followed the artistic and critical success 'Things Buried', further developing Barbieri's unique sound. Writing and producing the album himself, the album includes contributions from long-term creative partners Steve Jansen (mixing/co-arranging), Steven Wilson (mastering), Gavin Harrison (drums) and the legendary double bass player, Danny Thompson (Pentangle). Although instrumental in nature, most tracks feature radical and atmospheric manipulations of the sampled voices of Tim Bowness and Suzanne Barbieri.


A1 Cave 6:32
A2 All Fall Down 3:11
A3 Hypnotek 8:16
B1 Byzantium 7:32
B2 Decay 5:02
B3 Abyssyn 6:45
C1 Morphia 5:44
C2 Retina Blur 4:30
C3 Stranger Inside 3:36