The Beatles

A Hard Day's Night

  • Sale
  • Regular price £27.99
  • Unavailable Unavailable

More Info

A Hard Day's Night is the third studio album by the Beatles, released on 10 July 1964, with side one containing songs from the soundtrack to their film of the same name. The American version of the album was released two weeks earlier, on 26 June 1964 by United Artists Records, with a different track listing. In contrast to their first two albums, all 13 tracks on A Hard Day's Night were written by John Lennon and Paul McCartney showcasing the development of their songwriting talents. The album includes the title track, with its distinct opening chord, and the previously released "Can't Buy Me Love", both transatlantic number-one singles for the band.

The title of the album was the accidental creation of drummer Ringo Starr. According to Lennon in a 1980 interview with Playboy magazine: "I was going home in the car and Dick Lester [director of the movie] suggested the title, 'Hard Day's Night' from something Ringo had said. I had used it in In His Own Write, but it was an off-the-cuff remark by Ringo. You know, one of those malapropisms. A Ringo-ism, where he said it not to be funny ... just said it. So Dick Lester said, 'We are going to use that title.'"


1 A Hard Day's Night 2:34
2 I Should Have Known Better 2:43
3 If I Fell 2:19
4 I'm Happy Just To Dance With You 1:56
5 And I Love Her 2:30
6 Tell Me Why 2:09
7 Can't Buy Me Love 2:12
8 Any Time At All 2:11
9 I'll Cry Instead 1:46
10 Things We Said Today 2:35
11 When I Get Home 2:17
12 You Can't Do That 2:35
13 I'll Be Back 2:24
Enhanced CD extra: Video A Hard Day's Night Mini-Documentary