13Th Floor Elevators

13 Of The Best

  • Sale
  • Regular price £31.99
  • Unavailable

More Info

The triumvirate of Roky Erickson, Tommy Hall and Stacy Sutherland had to feature. Transcendent slower songs (often) don't feature full band performances - so, no Splash One. The song had to be a band original. So, no Baby Blue. 13 unlucky for some. This compilation launches a new phase in the 13th Floor Elevators catalogue and previews the forthcoming series THE QUEST FOR PURE SANITY: the release in optimal quality of all surviving source material for all of the band's recordings.

Each original source has been referenced to the earliest vinyl pressing and meticulously transferred at 96khz 24- bit resolution. Multitrack tapes of the original recording sessions have been newly mixed in strict accordance with the records as first released.

'You're Gonna Miss Me', the band's seminal single, is presented here for the first time in true stereo. Taken from the original multitrack session tape, the song has been mixed to stereo in accordance with the iconic mono 45 as recorded and engineered by Walt Andrus. 'Slip Inside This House' viewed by fans and critics alike as the Elevators' masterpiece and one of the key psychedelic recordings of the era, is included on the LP as the edited mono single mix so the loudest possible cut can be achieved. The eight-minute stereo version is included on all other formats. 'Never Another', 'Dr Doom' and 'Livin' On' from the band's final sessions have been newly mixed but without the overdubs added almost a year after recording. While the session tapes survive, the overdubs do not. 'Livin' On' features Roky Erickson's original superior vocal performance instead of the overdub used on the 'BULL OF THE WOODS' LP.

What is uniquely presented here is 100% Elevators as mixed and intended for the LP. No embellishments! '13 OF THE BEST' is produced by 13th Floor Elevators official archivist and historian Paul Drummond who has also written sleeve notes with full track-by-track information.


Side A
1 You're Gonna Miss Me
2 Through the Rhythm
3 Roller Coaster
4 Reverberation (Doubt)
5 Kingdom of Heaven
6 I've Got Levitation
Side B
1 She Lives (In A Time of Her Own)
2 Slip Inside This House
3 Earthquake
4 Never Another
5 Dr Doom
6 Livin' On
7 May the Circle Remain Unbroken