Sonny Rollins

Saxophone Colossus

  • Released: 2017
  • Label: Dol
  • Genre: JAZZ

  • Sale
  • Regular price £12.99
  • In Stock Unavailable

Product Info

Sonny Rollins recorded many memorable sessions during 1954-1958, but Saxophone Colossus is arguably his finest all-around set. Joined by pianist Tommy Flanagan, bassist Doug Watkins, and drummer Max Roach, Rollins debuts and performs the definitive version of "St. Thomas," tears into the chord changes of "Mack the Knife" (here called "Moritat"), introduces "Strode Rode," is lyrical on "You Don't Know What Love Is," and constructs a solo on "Blue Seven" that practically defines his style.


A1 Strode Rode 7:18
A2 Blue 7 6:59
A3 Moritat 5:39
B1 Saint Thomas 10:49
A2 You Don't Know What Love Is 12:09