Arab Strap

The Week Never Starts Round Here

  • Sale
  • Regular price £19.99
  • Unavailable

More Info
Remastered version of the debut album from Scottish indie band Arab Strap, originally released in 1996.

Although the prime lyrical concerns are typical of the record’s twentysomething creators – alcohol, relationships, going out – vocalist Aidan Moffat repudiates any notion that the album was sloppily conceived. “We always had a sober and professional approach to recording,” he says.

“You’re not there to fuck about – you’re there to work, and studio time is expensive.”

“It’s a very personal, almost insular record,” says Moffat, summing up the album. “It has a very distinct character and is unique, which is rare.”

“ It’s a funny wee thing,” adds Middleton. “I’ll always love it because it’s our first, but also because it’s naive and cheeky. ‘Real’ musicians probably hate it, but its strength is its lack of technicality.”
1. "Coming Down" 3:35
2. "The Clearing" 5:52
3. "Driving" 2:11
4. "Gourmet" 2:40
5. "I Work in a Saloon" 2:35
6. "Wasting" 3:42
7. "The Smell of Outdoor Cooking" 3:38
8. "General Plea to a Girlfriend" 1:44
9. "The First Big Weekend" 4:53
10. "Kate Moss" 4:50
11. "Little Girls" 2:29
12. "Phone Me Tonight" 4:28
13. "Blood" 2:54
14. "Deeper" 7:35