Johnny Flynn & Robert Macfarlane

The Moon Also Rises

  • Sale
  • Regular price $29.00
  • In Stock Unavailable Unavailable

Product Info

LP : Standard "Moon Colour" Vinyl

Dinked : Galaxy Orange-Black Vinyl / Bonus 7” Black Vinyl / Signed & Hand-Numbered Insert / Limited Pressing of 1500 SOLD OUT

More Info

The Moon Also Rises –– Johnny Flynn’s sixth album, and the second co-written with his friend Robert Macfarlane –– will be released on 10 November 2023.

The Moon Also Rises gathers songs that Johnny and Robert have written together since finishing their first joint album, Lost In The Cedar Wood (2021). At its heart are the oldest themes of all: death and renewal, darkness and light. The first five tracks are songs of burial, shadows and memory, while the final four are songs of awakening, light and love. The album turns around a central song, ‘The Sun Also Rises’, which stands with a foot in both dark and light.

This is an album that’s been walked into being. Tracks have shaped tracks: many of the songs here began life or took form while Johnny and Robert followed paths together, including those that run over the wooded South Downs, and those following the banks of the River Lea, the grimy river which flows south from near Robert’s home in Cambridge to near Johnny’s home in east London.

The result is an album which fuses poetry, story, landscape, history, nature and myth into a series of rich, strange songlines that criss-cross time and place, joining winter to spring, ancient to present and birth to death. As the Sun sets, so the Moon rises as its echo; as one light dies, another, altogether different light is born.

The Moon Also Rises is a hugely varied, surprising and moving album. It was partly recorded in an old Methodist chapel –– now the home of Johnny and Rob’s friends, Cosmo and Flora Sheldrake.

“We brought together a large band of friends. It felt like we were celebrating being together as much as making music. That spirit of artistic community and collaboration, of sharing and learning and growing, is at the heart of all the work we make together.”

The album is produced by Charlie Andrew (alt-J, Marika Hackman), who also produced Lost in The Cedar Wood


Side A
01. Uncanny Valley
02. Song with no Name
03. Burial Blessing
04. No Matter the Weight
05. Coins for the Eyes

Side B
06. The Sun also Rises
07. The Wild Hunt
08. Through the Misty with You
09. Year-Long Winter
10. River, Mountain and Love