The Complete ATCO Recordings (1982-2004)

  • Sale
  • Regular price £26.99
  • Available to buy

More Info

Dutch guitarist and songwriter Adrian Vandenberg formed the band Teaser in 1977. Joining forces with lead vocalist Bert Heerink, bassist Dick Kemper, and drummer Jos Zoomer, the new band’s demo led to a worldwide deal with Atlantic Records. The band – now named band after their guitarist and songwriter – released their eponymous debut Vandenberg (CD1) via Atlantic imprint ATCO in 1982.

Produced by Vandenberg and recording engineer Stuart Epps at Jimmy Page’s Sol Studios in the UK, the album featured the power ballad ‘Burning Heart’, the track making an impressive dent on the US Billboard Hot 100 charts in 1983. The track ‘Wait’ was also issued as a single. Vandenberg became a big concert draw, with major tours supporting Ozzy Osbourne and KISS, as well as shows in Japan, where the band had grown popular enough to headline in their own right.

Following hot on the heels of their debut, 1983’s Heading For A Storm (CD2) was released the following year, cementing the success of the first record. Again co-produced with Stuart Epps at Sol Studios, the singles ‘Friday Night’, ‘Waiting For The Night’ and ‘Different Worlds’ further broadened their appeal.

Fans had to wait until the end of 1985 before they could hear more Vandenberg, with the release of Alibi (CD3). The biggest change for Vandenberg’s third record was the production duties were now handled by pop producer and former Golden Earring drummer, Jaap Eggermont. An accomplished and respected artist, Adrian Vandenberg also produced the album cover artwork for ‘Alibi’, ‘Heading For A Storm’ and the self-titled debut. Shortly after ‘Alibi’, Vandenberg effectively split up, with Adrian joining Whitesnake for the remainder of the 1980s.

CD4 collects together the officially released rarities, including demos of ‘Back On My Feet’, ‘Ready For You’, ‘Nothing To Lose’, ‘I’m On Fire’, ‘Out In The Streets’, ‘Out Of Cash’ and ‘Help Me Thru The Night’. Also included here are both mono and stereo edits for the ‘Burning Heart’ single, plus ‘Once In A Lifetime’ (Special Mix). The set finishes with the live tracks ‘Ready For You’, ‘Lost In A City’, ‘Friday Night’ and ‘Welcome To The Club’ (both recorded in Japan), ‘Roll Through The Night’ (Live in the U.S.A.) and ‘Too Late’. The fourth CD ends with the 2004 Unplugged version ‘Burning Heart’. In 2004, Vandenberg recorded a new version of ‘Burning Heart’, included here.

Thankfully, a brand new version of Vandenberg formed in 2020, releasing the 2020 album, with a line-up featuring Rainbow vocalist Ronnie Romero, with Randy van der Elsen on bass and Koen Herfst on drums.

This collection is completed by an extensive, new essay from Adrian Vandenberg himself, detailing the history of the band.


Vandenberg (1982)

1. Your Love Is In Vain
2. Back On My Feet
3. Wait
4. Burning Heart
5. Ready For You
6. Too Late
7. Nothing To Lose
8. Lost In A City
9. Out In The Streets

Heading For A Storm (1983)

1. Friday Night
2. Welcome To The Club
3. Time Will Tell
4. Different Worlds
5. This Is War
6. I'm On Fire
7. Heading For A Storm
8. Rock On
9. Waiting For The Night

Alibi (1985)

1. All The Way
2. Pedal To The Metal
3. Once In A Lifetime
4. Voodoo
5. Dressed To Kill
6. Fighting Against The World
7. How Long
8. Prelude Mortale
9. Alibi

Rarities & Live Tracks (1982-2004)

1. Back On My Feet (Demo)
2. Ready For You (Demo)
3. Nothing To Lose (Demo)
4. I'm On Fire (Demo)
5. Out In The Streets (Demo)
6. Out Of Cash (Demo)
7. Help Me Thru The Night (Demo)
8. Burning Heart (Stereo Edit)
9. Once In A Lifetime (Special Mix)
10. Burning Heart (Mono Edit)
11. Ready For You (Live)
12. Lost In A City (Live)
13. Friday Night (Live In Japan)
14. Welcome To The Club (Live In Japan)
15. Roll Through The Night (Live In the USA)
16. Too Late (Live)
17. Burning Heart (2004 Unplugged)