Tangerine Dream

Quantum Gate

  • Sale
  • Regular price £32.99
  • In Stock

Product Info

Tangerine Dream have been a fundamental influence on electronic and progressive music since their formation in West Berlin, 1967. Inspiring genres, musicians and other art forms, from The Future Sound of London to Porcupine Tree, the widely popular TV show Stranger Things (for which their music also featured in) to seminal video game Grand Theft Auto V (for which they helped to write the soundtrack). The group have also received seven Grammy nominations, written over 100 studio albums and were led by Edgar Froese, who developed an instantly recognisable synth-based instrumental music based on a meditative musical experience that came to prominence in the 70's and 80's.

'Quantum Gate' delivered an updated, contemporary development of their trademark sound: sequencer-driven electronica covering a wide range of moods and atmospheres from ambient soundscapes to energetic, upbeat moments. 'The Quantum Years' material began as a concept and series of musical sketches by Froese before he passed away in 2015. Remaining band members Thorsten Quaeschning, Ulrich Schnauss and Hoshiko Yamane worked together to realize Edgar's visions and expectations of a conceptual body of work that attempts to translate quantum physics and philosophy into music. New member Ulrich Schnauss comments: "at the moment hardly any other area of science questions our concept of reality (linearity of time etc.) as profoundly as research in Quantum physics - it's no surprise therefore that Edgar was drawn to these ideas since he had always aimed at reminding listeners of the existence of 'unopened doors'."

This mid-price CD version of 'Quantum Gate' is presented in digipack packaging complete with an 8-page booklet. The band are currently writing their new studio album and preparing for their next headline European tour in October and November. They supported the release of 'Quantum Gate' with a string of headline events in Europe from February to May, including a two-night booking at London's Union Chapel after the first event quickly sold out, plus the opening event for Amsterdam's cutting edge electronic music summer festival, Dekmantel.


1 Sensing Elements ( 13:33 )
2 Roll The Seven Twice ( 06:25 )
3 Granular Blankets ( 05:03 )
4 It Is Time To Leave When Everyone Is Dancing ( 06:36 )
5 Identity Proven Matrix ( 05:19 )
6 Non-Locality Destination ( 09:59 )
7 Proton Bonfire ( 08:25 )
8 Tear Down The Grey Skies ( 06:17 )
9 Genesis Of Precious Thoughts ( 09:10 )