Stephen Stills

Live At Berkeley 1971

  • Sale
  • £34.99
  • Regular price
  • In Stock In Stock Unavailable

More Info

Founding member of Buffalo Springfield and folk-rock supergroup Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young, • Stills' first solo album, Stephen Stills, earned a gold record, is the only album to feature both Jimi Hendrix and Eric Clapton, and climbed to #3 on the album charts. Stephen Stills’ single "Love the One You're With" became his biggest solo hit, peaking at number 14 on the Billboard Hot 100 and is the first track on this collection. 14 tracks from Stephen Still’s First US Tour, previously unissued and recorded Live at The Berkeley Community Theater in 1971, featuring David Crosby on two songs. In 1971 Stephen Stills embarked on a US tour, opening each show with an intimate acoustic first set, and closing each night with a riveting electric set featuring the Memphis Horns. These historic, previously unreleased recordings took place over two nights at the Berkeley Community Theater, with David Crosby joining him on vocals and guitar for "You Don’t Have To Cry" and "The Lee Shore." These recordings find Stills at peak performance in both vocal delivery and musicianship, effortlessly incorporating alternate instrumentation on his instantly recognizable tracks, including a seamless medley of “49 Bye Byes" and "For What It’s Worth” unexpectedly played on piano. Hand-picked by Stills from his personal archives, this album captures timeless and era defining performances. Fans who were lucky enough to catch his historic debut trek, dubbed “The Memphis Horns Tour,” were treated to the balladeer, the raving troubadour, the acoustic bluesman, the soul driver, and by far the most passionate music maker. Backed by a loyal cast of friends, including his usual steady rhythm section—drummer Dallas Taylor and bassist Calvin “Fuzzy” Samuels—along with keyboardist Paul Harris, guitarist Steve Fromholz, and percussionist Joe Lala, these Northern California shows were one of the most unique and intimate stops on the tour This album, rather than being an artifact from a bygone era, sparkles and stimulates. It cajoles you into thinking, feeling and—most importantly—moving. Stephen Stills Live At Berkeley 1971 is a cornucopia of priceless sound—and all of it bears the distinct and loving fingerprint of Stephen Stills.


1. Love The One You’re With (Live)
2. Do For The Other (Live)
3. Jesus Gave Love Away For Free (Live)
4. You Don’t Have To Cry (Live)
5. The Lee Shore (Live)
6. Word Games (Live)
7. Sugar Babe (Live)
8. 49 Bye-Byes/For What It’s Worth (Liv
9. Black Queen (Live)
10. Know You’ve Got To Run (Live)
11. Bluebird Revisited (Live)
12. Lean On Me (Live)
13. Cherokee (Live)
14. Band Introduction (Live)
15. Ecology Song (Live)