The Cure

Staring At The Sea - The Singles

  • Sale
  • Regular price $8.00
  • In Stock

More Info

Staring at the Sea compiles some hits and near-misses of these excavators of the dark soul. Beginning with their earliest hits--the sparse "Killing an Arab", the aptly tedious "10:15 Saturday Night" and the charming "Boys Don't Cry"--this collection stops before the comparative giddiness of Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me. Musicians first, brooding art types second, The Cure's unique instrumentation doesn't get the credit it rightfully deserves. The thrashy, trash-can break in "Jumping Someone Else's Train", the sprightly synthesized recorder of "Close to Me" and the techno-pop disco lines in "Let's Go to Bed" and "The Walk" are downright brilliant in their effectiveness and simplicity


1 Killing An Arab
2 10.15 Saturday Night
3 Boys Don't Cry
4 Jumping Someone Else's Train
5 A Forest
6 Play For Today
7 Primary
8 Other Voices
9 Charlotte Sometimes
10 The Hanging Garden
11 Let's Go To Bed
12 The Walk
13 The Love Cats
14 The caterpillar
15 In between days
16 Close to me
17 A night like this