Art Pepper


  • Sale
  • Regular price $29.00
  • Available to buy Available to buy

More Info

Producer John Snyder had always wanted to record Pepper and booked him into a week at the Village Vanguard in New York. At the time, Pepper was under contract to Contemporary Records and label head, Les Koenig, decided he would record the gigs, quashing any notion Snyder had of doing the same. However, Art promised Snyder that he’d record an album for Snyder’s label, Artists House, at some point down the road. Together they wound up making four.

Here again on vinyl and CD are the original albums drawn from these sessions, lovingly recreated in their original form, remastered by Grammy® winner Michael Graves and recut by Jeff Powell. Stardust (originally issued in 1985) features Pepper’s takes on Hoagy Carmichael title track, Duke Ellington’s “In A Mellow Tone,” and more. The CD adds six bonus performances from the sessions.


Side A
1. My Friend John (Alternate A)
2. Tin Tin Deo

Side B
1. Stardust (Alternate A)
2. In A Mellow Tone (Take 2)

1. My Friend John (Alternate A)
2. Tin Tin Deo
3. Stardust (Alternate A)
4. In A Mellow Tone (Take 2)
5. Art's Sweet Blues [Bonus Track]
6. But Beautiful (Take 1) [Bonus Track]
7. You Go To My Head (Alternate B) [Bonus Track]
8. Yesterdays (Take 3) [Bonus Track]
9. Stardust (Alternate B) [Bonus Track]
10. In A Mellow Tone (Take 1) [Bonus Track]