• Sale
  • Regular price £17.99
  • Available to buy

More Info

Active since the late ‘90s, Brussels-based Frenchman Sylvain Chauveau is an unsung pioneer of a now burgeoning scene and was making elegant post classical compositions years ahead of celebrated current peers like Max Richter, Nils Frahm, Olafur Arnalds, Dustin O’Halloran and Hauschka.

Now reissued in a remastered, first-ever vinyl edition, ‘Simple’ was originally released in 2012 as a CD collection of Sylvain’s works for cinema - a set of out-of-print, rare, and unreleased tracks composed between 1998-2010 that span stark / minimal electronic drones, processed guitar explorations, chamber pieces, solo piano, and two 40-piece string orchestra recordings.

Chauveau’s work here sounds as fresh and relevant today as it did back then and its author is long overdue some recognition / reappraisal of his role in helping prepare the ground for today’s scene. His music has been praised by numerous peers - Ryuichi Sakamoto listed ‘Nocturne Impalpable’ as one of his top 5 records; Hauschka and Peter Broderick have admitted his influence, whilst Jóhann Jóhannsson, Adam Wiltzie (A Winged Victory / Stars Of The Lid) and Fennesz have also praised his work.

1 Noir
2 Des Plumes Dans La Tête
3 Au Nombre Des Choses
4 Within The Orderly Life
5 Le Brasier De Tristesse
6 Anthracite
7 Pour Les Oiseaux
8 The Plot
9 Blanche Comme L'infini
10 Everything Will Be Fine
11 Notre Etrangère
12 Beast
13 Strangers Forever
14 Murmure
15 Situation Finale
16 Blanc
17 For C.
18 Dernière Etape Avant Le Silence II