Second Nature

  • Sale
  • Regular price £23.99
  • Available to buy

More Info

This is a record about our relationship to nature: How do we perceive it, how do we represent it in the western world? Why was it separated from us, from culture? How can we create a new relationship in an era of major environmental challenges?

It took 5 years for Joakim to complete this album, especially to collect all the field recordings that populate the fauna and flora of this immersive record where he goes back to his roots in IDM, Classical Music, avant-garde Pop and Ambient.

Through 16 tracks, Joakim explores a world of sounds that blur the line between the natural and the artificial, a psychedelic journey on a modern Noah’s Ark.

The album is also the most collaborative work of Joakim so far. In a time of pandemic isolation, he reached out to a wide range of contributors, from American experimental drummer Greg Fox to conceptual Taiwanese artist Yutie Lee, from Chicago Jazz new ambassador Angel Bat Dawid to Italian philosopher Emanuele Coccia.

Besides the album, Second Nature will also be presented as a sound and video installation including multiple simultaneous video projections and a spatialized 3D sound environment based on the record.


A1. Indri Eyes

A2. Make It Slow

A3. Bowerbird & Parsley

B1. Hippo Dance

B2. The Immortal Toad

B3. Formosan Rock (feat. Yutie Lee)

B4. Sferics & Whistlers

C1. Owling Gorilla

C2. Elephant Laser Hopper

C3. Leviathan Chant

D1. Philomela's Revenge

D2. The Griffin Gaze