Sarah Brown

Sings Mahalia Jackson

  • Sale
  • Regular price £21.99
  • Available to buy In Stock

More Info

Sarah Brown releases her debut album ‘Sarah Brown Sings Mahalia Jackson’ on 20th May 2022, preceded by a new single ‘Walk Over God’s Heaven’ on the 6th May.  The record sees Sarah offer her interpretations of some of the classic tracks of arguably the most famous gospel singer of the last century who gave Brown hope and sanctuary through hard times faced over the years. 

Mahalia Jackson (October 26, 1911 – January 27, 1972) is widely considered as a major influence on Mavis Staple, Little Richard, Aretha Franklin, Sam Cooke, Donna Summer, Ray Charles, and a civil rights icon (Malcolm X noted that Jackson was "the first Negro that Negroes made famous”,  Harry Belafonte stated "there’s not a single field hand, a single black worker, a single black intellectual who did not respond to her”, and it was Mahalia who prompted Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr to improvise the ‘I Have a Dream’ speech.


1. Nobody Knows
2. I’m On My Way
3. Didn’t It Rain
4. Summertime
5. Walk Over God’s Heaven
6. Just A Closer Walk
7. Trouble Of The World
8. Joshua Fought The Battle
9. Amazing Grace