Miles Davis


  • Sale
  • Regular price $33.00
  • Available to buy Available to buy

More Info
In 1985, Miles Davis left the Columbia label after 30 years to join Warner Bros.

In October of that year, he began recording the album "Rubberband" in Los Angeles at Ameraycan Studios with producers Randy Hall and Zane Giles. The musical direction Davis was taking during the sessions marked a radical departure, with the inclusion of funk and soul grooves; with plans to feature guest vocalists Al Jarreau and Chaka Khan. Eventually, the album was shelved and Davis went on to record "Tutu", leaving the "Rubberband" songs unheard and untouched for over 30 years.

Now the album has been finished by the original producers Hall and Giles; with Davis’ nephew, Vince Wilburn, Jr., who played drums on the original sessions for the album in 1985-86.

The final version includes several guest artists including singers Ledisi (a 12-time Grammy nominee) and Lalah Hathaway (daughter of soul legend Donny Hathaway).
1. “Rubberband Of Life” – featuring Ledisi

2. “This Is It”

3. “Paradise”

4. “So Emotional” – featuring Lalah Hathaway

5. “Give It Up”

6. “Maze”

7. “Carnival Time”

8. “I Love What We Make Together” – featuring Randy Hall

9. “See I See”

10. “Echoes In Time/The Wrinkle”

11. “Rubberband”