Architecture and Morality: Remastered

  • Sale
  • Regular price £5.99
  • Unavailable

More Info

If there was a clear high point for OMD in terms of balancing relentless experimentation and seemingly unstoppable mainstream success in the U.K., Architecture & Morality is it.

Again combining everything from design and presentation to even the title into an overall artistic effort, this album showed that OMD was arguably the first Liverpool band since the later Beatles to make such a sweeping, all-bases-covered achievement -- more so because OMD owed nothing to the Fab Four.

All it takes is a consideration of the three smash singles from the album to see the group in full flower. "Souvenir," featuring Paul Humphreys in a quiet but still warm and beautiful lead role, eases in on haunting semi-vocal sighs before settling into its gentle, sparkling melody. The mid-song instrumental break, with its shifted tempos and further wordless calls, is especially inspired. "Joan of Arc," meanwhile, takes the drama of "Enola Gay" to new heights; again, wordless vocals provide the intro and backing, while an initially quiet melody develops into a towering heartbreaker, with Andy McCluskey and band in full flight.

If that wasn't enough, the scenario was continued and made even more epic with "Maid of Orleans," starting with a quick-cut series of melancholic drones and shades before a punchy, then rolling martial beat kicks in, with Malcolm Holmes and technology in perfect combination. With another bravura McCluskey lead and a mock-bagpipe lead that's easily more entrancing than the real thing, it's a wrenching ballad like no other before it and little since.

Any number of other high points can be named, such as the opening, "The New Stone Age," with McCluskey's emotional fear palpable over a rough combination of nervous electronic pulses, piercing keyboard parts, and slightly distorted guitar. "She's Leaving" achieves its own polished pop perfection -- it would have made an inspired choice for a fourth single if one had been forthcoming -- while the heartbreaking "Sealand" and "Georgia" hint at where OMD would go next, with Dazzle Ships.


1 The New Stone Age 3:22
2 She's Leaving 3:28
3 Souvenir 3:39
4 Sealand 7:47
5 Joan Of Arc 3:48
6 Joan Of Arc (Maid Of Orleans) 4:12
7 Architecture And Morality 3:43
8 Georgia 3:24
9 The Beginning And The End 3:48

Bonus Tracks
10 Extended Souvenir 4:16
11 Motion And Heart (Amazon Version) 3:07
12 Sacred Heart 3:30
13 The Romance Of The Telescope 3:22
14 Navigation 3:00
15 Of All The Things We've Made 3:25
16 Gravity Never Failed 3:24