Elvin Jones

Mr Jones

  • Sale
  • Regular price £21.99
  • Unavailable

More Info

The 6th solo album from the drummer best-known for his role in John Coltrane's classic quartet, originally released in 1973. Featuring Mahavishnu Orchestra maestro Jan Hammer on keyboards, three saxophonists famous for their association with Miles Davis (Dave Liebman, Steve Grossman, George Coleman) plus Pepper Adams (baritone sax), Joe Farrell (tenor and flutes), Thad Jones on flugelhorn, bassist (and another Miles alumnus) Gene Perla and a three-man percussion section. A varied set touching on Latin Jazz and post-bop, showcasing two Elvin compositions (the title track, ‘One’s Native Place’), two by Perla (‘G.G.’, ‘What’s Up? That’s It!’) one by Liebman (‘New Breed’) and a gorgeous take on Tadd Dameron’s 'Soultrane'. Side one produced by Blue Note co-founder Alfred Lion, side two produced by Dr George Butler.


One's Native Place 6:14
Gee Gee 5:45
Mr. Jones 7:34
What's Up-That's It 5:36
Soultrane 6:10
New Breed 6:54