Helpless Stranger

  • Sale
  • Regular price $26.00
  • Available to buy

More Info
Umberto AKA Matt Hill is an experienced and active film composer, most recently scoring the film All That We Destroy. In addition to film and commercial work, Umberto has released a number of lauded solo recordings.

Umberto’s early recordings harken back to classic synth-driven scifi and horror soundtracks. Helpless Spectator uses synthesizers in an entirely different manner. Cold, looming monolith tones are now warm, softer pads that envelope the listener while guitar, cello, banjo and pedal steel add movement and light. Still, Hill unsettles with his
arrangements and melodic phrasing. Unexpected shifts and turns in even the most tender movements of "Helpless Spectator" are inflected with a contemplative melancholy and fragility.
1. Hidden Thoughts
2. Leafless Tree
3. Spontaneous Possession
4. Reflection
5. The Higher Room

6. Sadness, Happiness, Disgust, and Surprise
7. Absent Images
8. Arroyo