Penguin Cafe

Handfuls Of Night

  • Sale
  • Regular price $29.00
  • Unavailable Unavailable Unavailable

Product Info

Limited LP : Limited 'indies-only' edition on clear vinyl

More Info
The highly anticipated follow-up to Penguin Cafe’s 2017 album "The Imperfect Sea" — inspired by the Antarctic, Arthur Jeffes’ journey following in Scott’s footsteps and our penguin friends that reside there.

Using gut-stringed violins, viola, cello, bass, percussion, upright and grand pianos, synthesiser, harmonium and more, Arthur Jeffes and his cohorts have crafted a vivid series of panoramic sonic landscapes, that are as rich in cerebral poignancy as they are in emotional depth.

Bookended by the atmospheric ambient piano pieces ‘Winter Sun’ and ‘Midnight Sun’, the album traverses glacial minimalism with ease, combining their signature contemporary classical panoramas, such as the melancholic yet upbeat lead track ‘At the Top of the Hill, They Stood...’ and the colossal cinematic piece ‘Chapter’, with the crystalline folktronica on ‘Pythagorus on the Line Again’ — a re-visiting and continuation of the Penguin Cafe Orchestra’s 1993 Union Cafe song on the principles of harmonics.
1. Winter Sun

2. Chinstrap

3. Chapter

4. Adelie

5. At the Top of the Hill, They Stood...

6. Pythagoras on the Line Again

7. The Life of an Emperor

8. Gentoo Origin

9. Midnight Sun